Whether a driver has to report their car accident to officials or not depends on how severe the accident actually was. Drivers are required to report a car accident in Canton, Georgia if the following requirements are met:
- If there is an injury involved
- If there is a death involved
- If more than $500 of damages was done
If any of the above conditions apply a person should contact authorities and inform them of the accident. Apart from informing officials, both drivers involved in the accident also have to exchange names, contact information, and license numbers in case a problem comes up with their vehicle later on. In some cases, it may seem like there is not a lot of damage done to a vehicle on the outside, but the impact of the accident may actually cause internal damage to the vehicle which will manifest later on.
As soon as a person exchanges information it is in their best interest to have their vehicle looked at by a mechanic. If there is some serious damage done a person should call a car accident attorney in Canton, GA to help them make the appropriate claims with the insurance company to help them pay for the damages.
What are the car insurance laws in Georgia?
In Georgia, there are minimum liability coverage amounts that every driver is supposed to have. These amounts include:
- $50,000 for the death or harm of more than one person in an accident
- $25,000 for any property damage caused by the accident
- $25,000 for the death or injury of a single person in an accident
A person has up to two years after their accident to file a lawsuit for any injuries they sustained according to the statute of limitations. However, if they are claiming for property damage they have up to four years after the accident occurred.
It is necessary that a person files their paperwork within this timeframe or else their case will most likely not be considered seriously in court.
In most car accident cases, individuals generally make claims for any wages they missed out on because of injuries they sustained from the accident as well as financial compensation to pay for their medical bills and property damage. Anyone who has gotten into a car accident should contact a lawyer to help them fight their case and maximize the amount of money they can get out of their insurance company.
Is it necessary for me to contact a lawyer after a car accident?
If a person is held responsible for causing a car accident they may have to get the money from their insurance company to pay for the damages. Insurance policies are generally very lengthy and complicated. If a person wants to ensure they are getting the full amount they deserve from their insurance company they should get in touch with a car accident lawyer to communicate with the company on their behalf.