Maine Car Accident Lawyers and Auto Wreck Attorneys

The average driver in Maine is on the road approximately 11,138 miles per year, according to 2014 data from That’s a lot of miles traveled, each of which can result in a tragic auto accident that will impact the financial, mental, and physical well-being of the victims. A fatal car accident occurs once in every 15 minutes in U.S.

Car Accident Statistics for Maine

Below are car crash statistics for Maine compiled by the National Highway Safety Administration:

Number of fatal crashes in 2015- 156

Number of crashes involving cars- 108

Number of speed-related fatalities- 24

Number of alcohol-related fatalities- 45

Causes of Maine Car Accidents:

Car accidents can have a myriad of causes, but certain bad driving habits cause the majority of fatal crashes in the U.S. and Maine.

Speeding- In Maine, law enforcement officers issued 1,232 speeding tickets statewide in 2015, the state Bureau of Highway Safety reports.

Drunk driving- According to the NHTSA, drunk drivers killed 52 people in Maine in 2015.

Distracted Driving- The National Safety Council estimates that 26 percent of car crashes involve drivers who are texting or talking.

Car insurance in Maine

Maine has fault car insurance rules, which means car accident victims can recover compensation for their injuries, property damage, and mental distress by filing a claim with the at-fault party’s insurer or file a personal injury claim wit

Motorists in Maine are required to carry a minimum of:

$50,000 for injury or death of a person which can include yourself, a passenger, pedestrian, motorcyclists, etc.

$25,000 for property damage.

$1,000 for medical expenses.

Maine has some of the strictest auto insurance rules and demands higher coverage amounts than other states, but car accident victims still find it difficult to recover the compensation they deserve. When you retain an accident lawyer in Maine, they can help you recover a fair settlement from an auto insurance company. Our team of personal injury lawyers in Maine work with insurance companies regularly, so they understand how to negotiate and argue for the best possible settlement.

Maine traffic laws

Maine State Police require that all accidents that involve injuries, deaths of $1,000 or more in property damage be reported. If you are in a car accident, you can call local police or report your accident:

Maine State Police

198 Maine Ave, Bangor, ME 04401

(207) 973-3700


Maine State Troopers

Department of Public Safety

28 Meadow Rd, Augusta, ME 04330

(207) 622-2277


Other resources for Maine car accident victims

MADD victim services:

If you lost a loved one in a drunk driving accident, call the MADD Victim/Survivor Helpline at 1-877-MADD-HELP (877-623-3435).

Consult with a car accident lawyer

If you were hurt in a car accident, USAttorneys encourages you to speak to an accident lawyer near you in Maine to learn the best way to resolve your accident case. We have a dedicated and knowledgeable team of personal injury lawyers who can help you recover compensation for medical expenses, costs of rehabilitation and a property repair.