After a motorist has been involved in an accident with a teen driver in San Diego, one of their first concerns may be who is going to cover the damage the accident caused as he/she may seem too young to be insured. Well, if the teen driver was responsible for causing it, then he/she would be held financially liable. Unlike some states that follow no-fault laws, California is considered an at-fault state which means any driver who is liable for causing a crash is also responsible for paying for the damage and/or injuries they cause another party to suffer.
Now, because most teen drivers do not own their own vehicle and instead, use a parent’s car or truck to get around, it is very likely a driver would need to file a claim with the vehicle owner’s insurer, whether it be the teen’s mom or dad. And even if the teen was operating his/her own vehicle, there is a good chance their vehicle is listed on their parent’s policy as most insurers will allow for this.
When a Teen Driver is Covered by Their Parent’s Insurance Policy
If a teen is covered under their parent’s insurance policy, it is likely they are at least carrying liability insurance with the following limits:
- $15,000 for injury/death to one person.
- $30,000 for injury/death to more than one person.
- $5,000 for property damage.
As per California law, all drivers, including teens, must meet the state’s minimum liability insurance requirements outlined above. This means if a motorist was involved in an accident with a teen driver who is covered by their parent’s insurance policy, they could file a liability claim and collect up to limits shown above given they are entitled to it. Now, there is a possibility the teen’s parent’s purchased additional types of coverages and even higher limits which means a driver may be entitled to more.
What if the teen was insured?
If the teen driver was covered by their own policy, then a claim would then need to be filed with theirinsurance company. Like all other drivers, teens are required to meet California’s minimum liability insurance requirements which means a driver could file a claim with the teen’s insurer and recover compensation up to the limits they purchased. In the event the teen was carrying other types of coverages, a driver may then be entitled to recover additional compensation given their damages entitle them to it.
Hiring a Car Accident Lawyer After a Crash in San Diego, California
If a driver was recently involved in a wreck with a teen and they want to be sure they are properly compensated for their property damage and injuries, they are advised to contact a San Diego, CA car accident attorney. Car accident lawyers, such as those at the Law Offices of Bruce S. Meth will assist an accident victim through the claims process and ensure the insurer doesn’t take advantage of them by undervaluing their claim.
The Law Offices of Bruce S. Meth is available to help car accident victims understand their legal rights and get their claim filed with the appropriate insurance company.
The Law Offices of Bruce S. Meth can be reached at:
Phone: (619) 691-8942
Email: [email protected]
Chula Vista Office
815 Third Ave., Ste. 115
Chula Vista, CA 91911
Mission Valley Office
1761 Hotel Court, Suite 250
San Diego, CA 92108